Assessor: About the Assessor

Assessors in the State of Iowa are appointed to six-year terms by the Conference Board. The Mahaska County Conference Board consists of the County Board of Supervisors, the Mayor of each of our incorporated cities, and a representative from each school district in our county.

The Assessor is required to pass an examination by the Iowa Department of Revenue in order to be eligible for appointment. This examination consists of appraisal theory, assessment law, and many other categories the Assessor must be knowledgeable in.

The Assessor and any Deputy Assessors are subject to continuing education requirements, which must be met in order to be reappointed to a new term.

Assessors work in conjunction with the iowa Iowa Department of Revenue to ensure that assessment procedures are performed in accordance with the Iowa Code.